Texas CPE Requirements

CPE Information

License Renewal Date
Last day of birth month annually

CPE Reporting Period
Ends on last day of the CPA's birth month, over a three year rolling period

General Requirement
120 hours, with a minimum of 20 per year

Ethics Requirement
4 hour Texas Board approved ethics course every 2 years

Credit Limitations

  • Non-Technical Courses: 50% maximum in a three year reporting period.
  • Maximum self-study allowed: 100%

Board Information

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
505 E. Huntland Dr, Suite 380
Austin, TX 78752-3757
Phone: (512) 305-7800
Fax: (512) 305-7854
Website: www.tsbpa.texas.gov
Email: exam@tsbpa.texas.gov
Click here for Board Statutes

Acceptable Areas of Study: Per Texas CPE Requirements:

  • Technical Courses: Accounting, Audit, Tax, Management Advisory Services and other technical areas of benefit to a licensee and a licensee's employer(s)
  • Non Technical Courses: Such as Communications, Ethics, Behavioral Science, Practice Management and advanced courses which are of benefit to a licensee or a licensee's employer

PLEASE NOTE: Since state board regulations are constantly changing, the information contained here is deemed reliable however it is not guaranteed. We encourage you to contact your state board to answer any questions and confirm or clarify any requirements listed here.

Sequoia CPE is registered with the Texas State Board of Public Accounting. Our sponsor number is 10092.